Trail Information

Topographic Map

Elevation Profile

Hike Location Overview









Email this page to a friend



Reporter

AllTrails Google Printer Friendly Weather MapQuest TopoZone Help

Daniel Boone Scout Trail To Calloway Peak

View this trail on the brand new LocalHikes.com

Highlights:

Many Mountain Views, small springs, air plane crash, wildlife, birds
Near:Linville, NC
Scenery:
Distance:6.6 miles round trip
Elevation Gain:2464 ft
Hike Time:4 hours
Difficulty:Strenuous
Trail Condition:OK, but a few difficult spots
HikeType:Out and Back



Summary: This trail is up hill!!! And you will walk around 2 miles before coming to some of the most breath taking views in North Carolina. Along the way are plenty of trail signs and mile markers. Once reaching the Jct. of the Daniel Boone Scout Trail and Cragway Trail, you have the chance to take your first view off of Flat Rock View. This rock is so flat and nice to sit and lay on that we cooked dinner on it one night! Next you find a camping area, Daniel Boone Campsite and H2O (which has to be purified). Later up the trail you will go over many large rocks and cover muddy trail. The trail is nicely marked with many signs. Nearing the top you must you a series of ladders and cables to reach the peak. Lots of info at http://www.grandfather.com
Trailhead: This trail requires permits. Permits are 6 dollars a day per adult. The closest place to the trail in which you can buy a permit is Grandfather Mountain Market. The store is found off the Blue Ridge Parkway near mile marker 296 at the junction with Holloway Mtn. Rd. The store is located at the Jct. of US 221 and Holloway Mtn. Road. Once you have your permits you must return to the parkway and travel to mile marker 300 where you will find the Boone Fork Parking Area. Once there start up the Tanawha Trail, trail signs should point you to take a left over a bridge once starting the trail. You should find the trail head to the Daniel Boone Scout Trail in around 0.7 miles. (Lat:36.11405 Lon:-81.78338)
Trail Guides for Daniel Boone Scout Trail To Calloway Peak:
Best Seasons: Fall, Spring,
User Groups: Hikers, Dogs,
Ranger Contact: Ranger's Office 828-737-0833
Localhikes Reporter: This hike was submitted by Josh Craven. To visit this reporters web site, click here.
Trail Reviews  Page 2 of 3   Submit your own review
Reviewed by Todd Moy on 7/10/2009
This is a fun hike. I didn't find it as strenuous as the review led me to believe, but if you don't go out often you'll find a good challenge.

Reviewed by JC on 4/6/2009
The poster didn't burn anything. He used a MSR stove to boil water.

Reviewed by Luke on 4/5/2009
This is my favorite hike on Grandfather. If you are looking for views, go up or down the Cragway Trail and then the Danial Boone Scout Trail for the opposite direction. If you are into local history, hike the Nuwati Trail along the lower Boone Bowl and watch for artifacts and remnants of past logging activity including coal, old cables and railroad ties. As the Ranger in charge of maintaining these trails, despite what the original poster says, please do not burn anything on Flat Rock.

Reviewed by trl on 8/24/2008
Daniel Boone is a good hike, not too strenuous, but certainly not the challenge or views of Grandfather. Does anyone know why a portion of the plane wreck was left on the mountain? Perhaps a monument to the poor choice of flying in bad weather.

Reviewed by JJB on 7/26/2008
Took my 11yo son on his first real hike, good news is he loved it! Was a little worried at first but he took to it in no time, said it was the best father son day we haver ever had. The plane crash was very interesting, I had no idea that it was there prior to the hike so to say it was a surprise was an understatement!

Reviewed by JAH on 7/18/2008
Very nice hike with some beautiful views, especially from the top. The main thing I wanted to see was the aircraft that has been mentioned here. It's not something you can miss, pass the second "shelter" (an elevated platform for setting up tents), keep your eyes to the right and you'll the see the debris almost immediately. One of the most creepy things I've seen. Here's the info on the crash: http://www.ntsb.gov/ntsb/brief.asp?ev_id=42026&key=0

Reviewed by MMP on 2/26/2008
Hiked up 4 others from the Piedmont Hiking and Outing Club on Feb 23rd. A little misty and windy but a good day. The only view was from Flat Rock on the way up. The views were of fog & clouds the rest of the trip. We went up Daniel Boone, over Calloway, and down to the intersection with the Profile Trial. Coming back we went down the Cragway Trail to the Nuwati Trail. Not too much ice, that was nice! Winter is great time to see the plane wreck. Very few people (one crazy trail runner).

Reviewed by Lance on 9/22/2007
Hiked in and out today...to Calloway peak from Blue Ridge Parkway. Bring lots of water. Strenuous hike...not for weak of heart, but great views. The plane crash remains are about 30 feet off the trail about 1/4 mile from peak. I was told it was a spring 1979 crash...pilot died after hitting a tree. One of most eerie scenes I have come across while hiking.


Notice: Traveling in the backcountry can be hazardous. You are responsible for informing yourself about these hazards and taking necessary precautions. Information on this web site comes from volunteer reporters and may contain errors or omissions. A current guidebook and proper equipment are essential for safe enjoyment of the hikes posted on this site.
Keys: North Carolina Hiking, North Carolina Trails, North Carolina Hikes, Avery County Hiking, Avery County Trails, Avery County Hikes


About Us    Help    Contact Us
Site Map Of Available Hikes
Copyright © 2003-2010 AllTrails, Inc.
Member of the AllTrails Network.