Trail Information

Topographic Map

Elevation Profile

Hike Location Overview









Email this page to a friend



Reporter

AllTrails Google Printer Friendly Weather MapQuest TopoZone Help

Lake Poway

View this trail on the brand new LocalHikes.com

Highlights:

Lake view, great picnic area
Near:Poway, CA
Scenery:
Distance:2 miles round trip
Elevation Gain:400 ft
Hike Time:1.5 hours
Difficulty:Moderate
Trail Condition:Well maintained trail
HikeType:Loop



Summary:  Take a gentle stroll around the beautiful Lake Poway. With plenty of fishing spots and rest areas along the way, you're sure to find a "favorite" spot. From the scenic dam overlook the trail descends several switchbacks before reaching a wilderness hike-in campground area. You'll have a great view from the bottom of the dam from here. Then it's back up more switchbacks until you reach the parking area and boat dock. The concessions store sells an assortment of fishing bait and tackle, and plenty of refreshments to recharge you after the hike.
Trailhead:  From I-15 take the Rancho Bernardo Road Exit. Follow for approx. 4 miles to Lake Poway Road, turn left and follow to park entrance (Lat:33.0038 Lon:-117.0013)
Trail Guides for Lake Poway:
Best Seasons: Year-Round
User Groups: Hikers, Dogs, Bikes, Horses,
Ranger Contact: 858-679-5466
Localhikes Reporter: This hike was submitted by Joe Cross, who has posted  56 other hikes on this site
Trail Reviews  Page 2 of 4   Submit your own review
Reviewed by Jeanette on 6/20/2009
Beautiful area, can be very hot in mid-day - go early. Suggest parking at the Blue Sky Preserve, 2.1 miles away, parking is free. From Blue Sky Preserve you can connect to the Poway Lake Trail, numerous birds, prestine. Blue Sky Preserve is worth the drive in itself. No bikes!

Reviewed by KA on 6/8/2009
There is a $5 entrance fee if you are not Poway resident. Did not hike because of this - we had no cash and the nearest ATM was a few miles away. Would like to hike - the park looked lovely and very well maintained.

Reviewed by DLCH on 4/26/2009
4-26-09 Beautiful hike on Lake Poway Trail (about 3 miles). Weather was great and flowers were blooming. Started left of concession stand to miss the crowds starting on the other side. Took the dog and our 10 year old son. There are some steep areas and I wished my son had on shoes with a bit more traction but overall a fairly easy hike.

Reviewed by wp on 3/5/2009
This is a wonderful quiet place, easy hiking and clean! On this gorgeous Spring day we could enjoy the clean air, the nice lake and a real relaxing time. Unfortunately it is not possible to hike around the lake as it is not alowed to walk over the dam. That's too bad then you have to go back the way as you came. Even that this beautiful place earnes a 5 Star rating! Thanks to all who take care to this jewel!

Reviewed by ds an ca on 1/18/2009
oh this was a super trail!

Reviewed by KAT on 11/13/2008
Did this hike last week with my husband and dog. Our dog loved the trails, they were easy to navigate and big enough for the 3 of us to walk together. Some of the switchbacks were a little bit hard on me but it was a great beginners trail and we have fun just spending some quiet time together as a family.

Reviewed by melissa on 6/14/2008
me and my husband went there, the easy trail was closed, so we had to take the scenic route. very long but nice

Reviewed by Cyn on 3/17/2008
Hiked twice over the weekend! The hills are coming back after the fires with lush green ground cover and the wildflowers are incredible! A must-see!


Notice: Traveling in the backcountry can be hazardous. You are responsible for informing yourself about these hazards and taking necessary precautions. Information on this web site comes from volunteer reporters and may contain errors or omissions. A current guidebook and proper equipment are essential for safe enjoyment of the hikes posted on this site.
Keys: California Hiking, California Trails, California Hikes, San Diego County Hiking, San Diego County Trails, San Diego County Hikes


About Us    Help    Contact Us
Site Map Of Available Hikes
Copyright © 2003-2010 AllTrails, Inc.
Member of the AllTrails Network.