Trail Information

Topographic Map

Elevation Profile

Hike Location Overview









Email this page to a friend



Reporter

AllTrails Google Printer Friendly Weather MapQuest TopoZone Help

Mount Pilchuck

View this trail on the brand new LocalHikes.com

Highlights:

Easiet, most accessable peak in the Cascade mountain range, and has a lookout!
Near:Granite Falls, WA
Scenery:
Distance:6 miles round trip
Elevation Gain:2166 ft
Hike Time:3.5 hours
Difficulty:Moderate
Trail Condition:Well maintained trail
HikeType:Out and Back



Summary: This is a heavily used area, especially on the weekends. We encountered over 30 people before noon on their way up, ages 10 to 80. The trail is very well maintained and easy to follow. Semi-steep in some parts, but an overall moderate grade. No worse than climbing the stairs at your house in the steepest area. Beware the early spring and late fall snows which easliy obscure the trail. Allow plenty of time, and don't underestimate the amount of time to hike this peak. Along the way, you travel from dense seond growth forest to rocky alpine forest, to open mountain peak. This is the closest, easiest peak in the Cascade range. The Puget Sound, Mt. Baker, Mt Rainer, and the entire Cascade range are easily visible form the top on a clear day. Pilchuck and its lesser attached peaks are a visually fascinating layer upon layer of exposed rock (former lava flows) and steep cliffs. As you walk up, you'll pass the remnants of the ski lifts and lodge. Enjoy the views!
Trailhead: From the Everett area, take State Route 92 through Granite Falls. Continue straight ahead, down Stanley St, and turn left at the stop sign (by the car wash). Go straight through the next stop (now on the Mountain Loop Highway). Continue down Mountain Loop several miles until you go over the silver/blue bridge. Immediately after the bridge, turn right. It is clearly labeled Mt Pilchuck. Follow the well used road until it ends in a parking lot (former ski lodge). There is a pit toilet and sign clearly marking the start. Sign in just up the trail from the parking lot. For more info and trail conditions, stop at the Verlot Ranger Station. (Editors Note: Another user indicates that it is the silver, not red bridge.) (Lat:48.06993 Lon:-121.81497)
Trail Guides for Mount Pilchuck:
Best Seasons: Fall, Summer,
User Groups: Hikers, Dogs,
Ranger Contact: Verlot Ranger Station, at 360-691-7791
Localhikes Reporter: This hike was submitted by Tommy, Michele, Sam, & Oliver Koziol, who has posted  3 other hikes on this site. To visit this reporters web site, click here.
Trail Reviews  Page 2 of 9   Submit your own review
Reviewed by K on 8/16/2010
Error: Reserved Word Found: --

Reviewed by KP on 8/12/2010
Great hike, but you've got to start early to avoid the mass crowds. Hard on dog paws.

Reviewed by Steve on 8/8/2010
Live in Lake Stevens, left the house at 7:30 AM, was back home at 1:00 PM and got some interesting pics from the lookout shack. Thought August would be a good day for great views, not. The flies, nats, mosquito's, are serious, wear protectant. I think the trail is in bad shape, and I would not take my grandchildren for safety reasons until they are in their teens. I want to do it again on a clear day with my grown children.

Reviewed by Lew on 7/31/2010
This was my first hike up a mountain and it was pretty exhausting but well worth the hike. At the end there's a small rock climb to get to the look-out shelter but it's well worth it, the view was spectacular!!!

Reviewed by Rena on 2/14/2010
This was a great hike. There was alot of snow on the top, half-post holing a few times. Used yak-traks which seemed to suffice. Started in rain, turned to sleet and then snow. It was a little windy on top but not bad. Took 5 1/2 hours which included a 1/2 lunch break in the lookout tower. Total distance was 5.7 mi round trip. Good winter hike and conditioner.

Reviewed by Chris on 12/28/2009
This was a really nice hike - I took about 3 hours to hike it and didn't quite reach the top (it was icy, i was about worn out, and there was fog incoming). The conditions were mixed - bare earth at the very bottom, snow at the very top (packed, too), and ice with rocks scattered through the middle. I was wearing hiking boots and the way was treacherous in a couple of places (downed tree across the path about 1.5mi in, ice with no footholds), so crampons are recommended in the winter. I'll have to try this again when i can start earlier and have better gear.

Reviewed by Viewer on 9/28/2009
Its an excellent hike with great adventue. We actually took about 5 1/2 hours to hike. We started later (around 1:45) & it was 7:15 while we reached the parking lot. Sunset had happened around 7 & hence it was a little scary at the end since we were the only ppl coming down. I would highly recommend to please start in time & keep some buffer so that you complete well before sunset. Overall, excellent views & one of the best hikes in the area!!!

Reviewed by MJL on 9/17/2009
Loved this hike. One of my all-time favorites. We picked a clear sunny day with a high of 70 degrees. Although there were a few flies seen, we were not bothered by any and didn't need to use any repellent. Awesome mountain views in all directions, even to the east as you can see the Olympic range. The old lookout was nice to see. We stayed there for close to an hour, had lunch, took lots of pictures, and enjoyed the old time photos on display in the lookout. A great day hike and great exercise. I will definitely be back.


Notice: Traveling in the backcountry can be hazardous. You are responsible for informing yourself about these hazards and taking necessary precautions. Information on this web site comes from volunteer reporters and may contain errors or omissions. A current guidebook and proper equipment are essential for safe enjoyment of the hikes posted on this site.
Keys: Washington Hiking, Washington Trails, Washington Hikes, Snohomish County Hiking, Snohomish County Trails, Snohomish County Hikes


About Us    Help    Contact Us
Site Map Of Available Hikes
Copyright © 2003-2010 AllTrails, Inc.
Member of the AllTrails Network.