Trail Information

Topographic Map

Elevation Profile

Hike Location Overview









Email this page to a friend



Reporter

AllTrails Google Printer Friendly Weather MapQuest TopoZone Help

Tumamoc Hill

View this trail on the brand new LocalHikes.com

Highlights:

Great hike with perfect city views
Near:Tucson, AZ
Scenery:
Distance:3.1 miles round trip
Elevation Gain:730 ft
Hike Time:2 hours
Difficulty:Easy
Trail Condition:Fire road/pavement
HikeType:Out and Back



Summary: This is a great hike up a well paved hill with fantastic city views. Since this hike is on university property it is one of the only hikes in the Tucson Mountain Range that permits night hiking, making this the perfect hike for sunrise/sunset watching. Tumamoc Hill is a research station that has been studied since 1906. Travel is permitted all the way to the top but on pavement only. With continued respect this route should remain open to the public!
Trailhead: From I-10 and Speedway dirve 1 mile west on Speedway to Silverbell. Turn south (left) on Silverbell and drive 0.2 miles to West Anklam Rd. Turn west (right) on West Anklam and the trailhead is on your left. Park in or near the St. Mary's Hostpital parking lot as there is no parking at the trailhead. (Lat:32.22643 Lon:-111.00168)
Trail Guides for Tumamoc Hill:
Best Seasons: Fall, Spring, Winter,
User Groups: Hikers,
Ranger Contact: The University of Arizona
Localhikes Reporter: This hike was submitted by Jeff Branscum, who has posted  27 other hikes on this site
Trail Reviews  Page 2 of 12   Submit your own review
Reviewed by Jesse on 1/19/2013
Frequently run this trail. From the road it's 1.3 miles up. It's paved asphalt the whole way and is always PACKED. Also, there are many inconsiderate people who play their music out loud rather than on headphones. Avoid this if you're an experienced hiker, reserve this for a GREAT running workout. It does however, have the best views of downtown Tucson of any Tucson peak.

Reviewed by AG on 12/30/2012
Good hike. Great for calves, but does not allow dogs :(

Reviewed by Brian on 10/19/2012
while visiting ny son at UFA I become aware of this trail. Every visit I take the time to run this hill. I run and walk stairs at home, sometimes with weights and find this taril to be a great running workout,

Reviewed by Ben on 8/24/2012
I definitely wouldn't say this is an easy hike. It's quite challenging but not impossible. It becomes easier with time. A great workout, great views, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a challenge.

Reviewed by AA on 7/4/2012
I took on this hill a month and a half ago. I walk half way and run half way to the top and then run down the whole way. It isn't an easy hill but is well worth it and gets easier every week.

Reviewed by VP on 7/1/2012
This hike was tough, but I did it and will tackle it again. The view is gorgeous, and today had a rainbow! Don't leave belongings in your car. My car was locked and alarmed - window was smashed and wallet, phone, etc were stolen. :(

Reviewed by Sam on 1/4/2012
St. Mary's Hospital has signs discouraging (ok - forbidding) parking in its lots. You gotta park on the street. Because this is a university research facility, there is no hiking the Hill between 7:30 and 5:30 Monday to Friday.

Reviewed by Veronica on 7/26/2011
As a regular hiker it's not easy. scenery is great from all levels that you reached specially once you reached half way up the hill and all the way up to the top. Recommend this for those who are seeking an intense workout, loose weight, or for those who just want too stay fit.


Notice: Traveling in the backcountry can be hazardous. You are responsible for informing yourself about these hazards and taking necessary precautions. Information on this web site comes from volunteer reporters and may contain errors or omissions. A current guidebook and proper equipment are essential for safe enjoyment of the hikes posted on this site.
Keys: Arizona Hiking, Arizona Trails, Arizona Hikes, Pima County Hiking, Pima County Trails, Pima County Hikes


About Us    Help    Contact Us
Site Map Of Available Hikes
Copyright © 2003-2010 AllTrails, Inc.
Member of the AllTrails Network.